Adrian Anantawan in Concert with Nicholas McCarthy - 無限亮 No Limits

Promotional photo: Adrian Anantawan in light blue shirt, plays violin.

General Information

  • Date:
    30 Mar 2023 (Thu)
  • Time:
    8pm
  • Venue:
    Concert Hall, Hong Kong City Hall
  • Ticket:
    $100, $60
No Limits Plus: Violin Masterclass, please click here for details.

Arts Accessibility Services

Share on facebook
Share
Share on whatsapp
Share

Adrian Anantawan in Concert with Nicholas McCarthy

Accessing the essence of music, breaking down inner barriers

“Disability shifts when you give people the right tools to overcome challenges.” With his can-do outlook, Adrian Anantawan who was born without a right hand, has powered ahead to establish a highly successful career as a violinist. The accomplished Canadian musician, of Chinese and Thai descent, discovered his passion for the violin at the age of nine, gripping the bow with the help of a tailor-made prosthesis. He hasn’t looked back since, going on to perform at many high-profile venues and events, including the White House and the Opening Ceremonies of the Athens and Vancouver Olympic Games.

For this programme, Anantawan will be joined by the British classical pianist Nicholas McCarthy, the sole left-handonly pianist to graduate from the Royal College of Music since its founding in 1882. A familiar name to “No Limits” audiences, the live concert will mark McCarthy’s third appearance, following masterclasses at the 2021 edition, and his pre-recorded performance with the Manchester Camerata in 2022.

The line-up will see Anantawan and McCarthy take turns to perform pieces by Bach and Scriabin, while the duo join forces to play well-known works by Sadie Harrison, Mozart, Massenet and Malcolm Arnold. A powerful new opus commissioned by “No Limits” from US composer and performer Molly Joyce, will also receive its world premiere. Joyce, whose left hand was permanently damaged from a car accident when she was a child, draws inspiration for composing and performing from her disability. An evening that opens up a world of possibilities.

手語節目介紹:室內歌劇《婆婆》

Programmes

Bach

Excerpts from Violin Partita No 3 in E Major, BWV1006
III. Gavotte en Rondeau
VII. Gigue

Scriabin

Prelude and Nocturne for the Left Hand, Op 9–2

Sadie Harrison

I Shan’t Be Gone Long

Mozart

Sonata No 21 in E minor, K304
I. Allegro
II. Tempo di Menuetto

Molly Joyce

The Myth of More

Massenet

“Méditation” from Thaïs

Malcolm Arnold

Five Pieces for Violin and Piano, Op 84

Artists Profile

Portrait of Adrian Anantawan
 

Adrian Anantawan

Canadian violinist Adrian Anantawan began studying violin at the age of nine. He has performed with the Toronto Symphony Orchestra and at the residence of the US President in Washington, DC. He is an alumnus of the Etobicoke School of the Arts in Canada, Curtis Institute of Music in Philadelphia, Yale University and Harvard Graduate School of Education. Growing up in the neighbourhood of Clarkson, in Mississauga, Ontario, Canada, he attended St Christopher’s Elementary School, and is a member of the St Christopher’s Church Parish. He is currently a member of the Anne-Sophie Mutter Foundation, Chair of Music at Milton Academy, and Artistic Director of Shelter Music Boston.

Portrait of Nicholas McCarthy
©William Lailey

Nicholas McCarthy

McCarthy is the first left-hand-only pianist to graduate from the Royal College of Music in London. He has performed extensively around the world, receiving critical acclaim on both recital tours and with major orchestras. One of his proudest moments was performing at the Closing Ceremony of the 2012 Paralympic Games in front of 86,000 people and half a billion viewers worldwide. He is committed to encouraging new audiences for classical music and to working with young people through music education. In addition to his concert career, Nicholas is one of Europe’s most indemand corporate speakers and regularly delivers keynote talks to the world’s leading businesses and institutions.

All the content of works are independently produced by the creative team, and do not reflect the views or opinions of The Hong Kong Jockey Club Charities Trust.

Audiences must follow the anti-pandemic measures and arrangements by the organiser. The arrangements are subject to change in light of COVID-19 and government measures. Please check the “No Limits” page for the latest notices.

Please contact us
if you have any enquiries

Strategic Supporting Partner

Back to top

《一弓一鍵》音樂會 - 無限亮 No Limits

穿着淺藍色恤衫的殷兆基在演奏小提琴

節目資訊

  • 日期:
    2023年3月30日(星期四)
  • 時間:
    晚上8時
  • 地點:
    香港大會堂音樂廳
  • 門票:
    $100,$60

「無限亮」加料節目:小提琴大師班,詳情請按此

藝術通達服務

分享在 facebook
分享
分享在 whatsapp
分享

《一弓一鍵》音樂會

音樂之美     不在於演奏者的皮相      而在於奏出的旋律
要接近音樂     不只是樂譜的音符      更要突破自身的限制

「不同能力的最大挑戰,是能夠找到表達這特質的工具。」加拿大出生,泰中混血的殷兆基,九歲找到小提琴代表他的心。縱然天生只有半截右臂, 他自問正常,認為只要有決心克服障礙,殘疾並不阻礙他發展事業。為學小提琴,他的港人媽媽請工程師特製手套,讓他的右臂可執起琴弓。現在, 殷兆基是專業小提琴家,曾於白宮、雅典和溫哥華奧運開幕禮表演。

英國的左手古典音樂鋼琴家尼古拉斯.麥卡菲,是倫敦皇家音樂學院成立一百三十年來,首位左手鋼琴畢業生,「無限亮」觀眾對他並不陌生。2021年「無限亮」,他主持網上大師班。2022 年,他與曼徹斯特室內樂團為 「無限亮」錄製演出。今次麥卡菲第三度參與「無限亮」,將親身與樂迷見面。

《一弓一鍵》音樂會由殷兆基與麥卡菲輪流獨奏巴赫和史克里亞賓的作品,然後合奏莎蒂.夏里遜、莫扎特、馬斯奈及馬爾康.亞諾的名曲,以及合演美國新音樂作曲家,莫利.喬伊斯的新作。喬伊斯兒時因交通意外左手永久傷殘,她愛以玩具電風琴創作和表演,視不同能力為靈感泉源。

手語節目介紹:室內歌劇《婆婆》

演出曲目

巴赫

E 大調第三小提琴組曲,BWV1006(選段)
 III. 嘉禾舞曲及輪旋曲
VII. 吉格舞曲

史克里亞賓

給左手的前奏曲與夜曲,作品九之二

莎蒂.夏里遜

《我不會離開太久》

莫扎特

E 小調第二十一奏鳴曲,K 304
I. 快板
II. 小步舞曲之速度

莫莉.喬伊斯

《「多」的迷思》

馬斯奈

《沉思曲》,選自歌劇《泰伊思》

馬爾康.亞諾

《五首小提琴及鋼琴小品》,作品 84

藝術家簡介

殷兆基的個人照
 

殷兆基

加拿大小提琴手殷兆基由九歲開始學習小提琴,他曾與多倫多交響樂團同台演出, 以及於美國白宮舉辦演奏會。他曾就讀加拿大怡陶碧谷藝術學院、美國費城柯蒂斯音樂學院,在耶魯大學畢業後於哈佛研究生教育學院深造。他在加拿大密西沙加的克拉克森社區中成長,就讀聖基道小學,也是聖基道教區成員。他現為安蘇菲慕特基金會成員,亦是米爾頓學院的音樂系主席及關懷無家者的文化機構 Shelter Music Boston 的藝術總監。

尼高拉斯.麥卡菲的個人照
©William Lailey

尼高拉斯.麥卡菲

麥卡菲是首位畢業於英國倫敦皇家音樂學院的單手鋼琴家。他曾在英國及世界各地 多個表演場合亮相,與不同的樂團同台演出,並得到高度評價。令麥卡菲最為自豪的其中一次演出,是 2012 年的殘疾人奧運會閉幕禮,他在八萬六千名現場觀眾面前演奏,同時全球有五億人欣賞直播演出。他致力透過音樂教育,向年青人推廣古典音樂,吸引更多觀眾。除了演出,他亦是受歐洲企業歡迎的演講者,經常獲邀在國際商業機構舉辦的活動中擔任主講嘉賓。

所有作品內容均由創作團隊獨立製作,並不代表香港賽馬會慈善信託基金之立場或意見。

觀眾必須遵守大會防疫措施及安排。活動有機會因應疫情及政府防疫措施而改動,請密切留意本專頁有關最新情況。

如有任何查詢,歡迎聯絡我們

策略支持伙伴

返回頁首